Remember when?

May 7-10, 1968

Gunther Behrens got the nod for his third term as Precinct 1 commissioner, polling 1,100 votes to 798 for Martin Manuel Jr., area farmer-rancher. Precinct 3 Commissioner Eddie Zouzalik won a third term in office by defeating Flatonia rancher Edward T. Mica, 577 to 411. Precinct 1 Constable H. L. “Lawrence” Adamcik was accorded another four years in office by defeating V. A. Hrbacek by a vote of 1,487 to 390. Fayette County Dems joined other Texans in their top choices for the state’s two highest offices, backing Preston Smith in his bid for governor and Ben Barnes for lieutenant governor.

Forty-four Republicans cast votes in the GOP primary in Schulenburg. Paul Eggers was favored as candidate for governor and Ray Gabler was chosen to oppose incumbent congressman J. J. Pickle for the 10th Congressional District. The Fayette GOP voted against the liquor proposal and race betting, but approved milk controls by a slim margin.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Category - Tags:

Fayette County Record

127 S. Washington St.
P.O. Box 400
La Grange, TX 78945
Ph: (979) 968-3155
Fx: (979) 968-6767