Remember when?

April 9-12, 1968

Nearly 1,200 La Grange Independent School District voters returned three members of the board of trustees to new three-year terms in office, although they all had drawn opposition. Polling 662 votes, Vastine (Big Jawn) Janssen was reelected in Place 1 over Dr. C. Garrette Ray with 359 and Mrs. Phyllis Graham with 145. Elmo Minzenmeyer of Swiss Alp, who had been appointed to the board to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Dr. F. L. Gunn, won his first elective term in Place 2 with 831 votes. His opponent, Mrs. Virginia McMillion, received 348. Reelected in Place 3 was Walter J. Koehl of Ellinger with 715 votes over Dr. E. L. Fitzpatrick’s 477.

La Grange voters gave overwhelming approval for the adoption of a one percent city sales and use tax, while Ward 1 chose a new alderman in the city election. The tax proposal was approved by 659 of the 752 votes cast. Gus W. Albrecht, who had served Ward 1 for 15 years, was defeated by L. W. Stoltz Jr., who polled 168 votes over Mr. Albrecht’s 58. The sales tax, which would become effective Oct. 1, was expected to generate between $24,000 and $30,000 annually. The council had promised to abolish the property tax on passenger autos if the proposition carried. It planned to use the new tax funds for street improvements, drainage and new equipment, etc.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Category - Tags:

Fayette County Record

127 S. Washington St.
P.O. Box 400
La Grange, TX 78945
Ph: (979) 968-3155
Fx: (979) 968-6767