Winchester Area VFD Elects New Officers


The Winchester Volunteer Fire Department held its election of officers meeting last week at Zilss Hall. Over 50 individuals were present and elected Marceil Prestridge-president; Jackie Short-vice president; Ronnie Kaiser-secretary; and Sherry Murphy-treasurer.  Special recognition was given to Clayton Kleiber as the outgoing Vice Chairman.  

Eddie Schneider, WAVFD chief reported that there were 15 active members, with Bryan Burton, Jacob Koenning, Jake Franke, and Butch Baker completing their first phase of fireman training.  He also announced that Larry Herzog, Roger Loewe, Eddie Schneider, and Tom Atkins have completed their First Responders Re-Certification.  

Chief Schneider stated that 2017 has started out unusually busy with 16 calls already received. Only 24 were received in all of 2016. 

Nate Hill gave a brief overview of training prior to everyone enjoying a dinner of fried fish and all the trimmings, prepared by Jake Franke, Eddie Schneider, Roger Loewe, Larry Herzog, and Elmo Zoch.

A special thank you was given to Angeline Zoch for the potato salad, Murphy’s Steakhouse for the tarter sauce and to the general members for the abundance of desserts.  

Pictured above are the newly-elected officers of the Winchester VFD: (from left) Ron Kaiser-secretary, Jackie Short-vice president, Eddie Schneider-chief, Sherry Murphy-treasurer and Marceil Prestridge-president.


To read the rest of Rhoda Gersch's Winchester news column, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.



Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Category - Tags:

Fayette County Record

127 S. Washington St.
P.O. Box 400
La Grange, TX 78945
Ph: (979) 968-3155
Fx: (979) 968-6767