Texas German Society Holds State Convention in La Grange

This past Saturday the Texas German Society (TGS) held its statewide, annual convention at the KC Hall in La Grange. By unanimous vote the 333 members elected our own Georg Ulbrich state president. Ulbrich is the current TGS Fayette County Chapter president as well. He is pictured above, left, along with outgoing president Glen Altwein of La Grange.

The TGS has its origins here in our county. In 1983 four or five German-heritage citizens of Fayette County started the Society. Their leader – the one who had the idea to start TGS – was La Grange’s Alfred Drescher, who became the first president. Glenn Guettler was treasurer who oversaw the coffers, which amounted to $92.00 at the time.


To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition. http://etypeservices.com/Fayette%20County%20RecordID96/

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Category - Tags:

Fayette County Record

127 S. Washington St.
P.O. Box 400
La Grange, TX 78945
Ph: (979) 968-3155
Fx: (979) 968-6767